Scran and the library

I have always been aware of SCRAN but I am, I must confess at times an infrequent user of this resource. I am sure there are many within the library world who are frequent users but alas not myself. However, all this has changed in the last few weeks and I am glad it has!This resource is a wonderful treasure trove of images suitable for the needs of any school library and department within a school. The difference this can make is massive and here are some of the reasons why;

It’s free

You don’t have to worry about copywrite (It’s important you always reference your source and it’s free because our authortiy kindly pays for it. A big help to any school library!)

It can jazz up any workbook/presentation you have

It will save you time

I recently designed and wrote a ‘General Election Research Quiz’ for S3 Modern Studies pupils and a S1 PSHE/English reflective writings piece called ‘Our journey at Taylor High’ inspired by the Scottish Book Trust’s writing campaign for Scottish Book Week 2015. On both occasions, I used SCRAN to add more character to the library learning booklets.

Orginally, I was stumped about how to make our learning booklets more engaging and interesting. I was at a loss and asked advice of a fellow North Lanarkshire librarian, who asked ‘Have you tried SCRAN’? Of course, why didn’t I think of this earlier?

To give my quiz an added dimension, I used an image of a lady either exiting or entering a polling station in the rain. The image fitted perfectly with the subject of the quiz. I also hope it inspired pupils to create some of the names they choose for their teams, particularly, ‘The Polling Stations’ or ‘Polling Cards.’

For the reflective writing piece, I decided to choose an image based around the keyword of ‘Journeys’. That is when the ideal image appeared, a road in the middle of nowhere that stretched into the distance. Again, I had found an image which symbolised this project and what I wanted our pupils to think about.

I hope that many of my future projects in the library and my learning booklets will further benefit from this free online resource. Time to get my thinking cap on! Many thanks to the Modern Studies, English and PSHE Department.

Categories: Daily life, Social Studies, Technology | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

