Scottish Children’s Book Awards 2012 Shortlist Announced

The Scottish Children’s Book Awards Shortlist was announced today and the titles look great.

From their e-mail:

The Scottish Children’s Book Awards (formerly Royal Mail Awards) run by Scottish Book Trust are voted for entirely by children and young people across Scotland.

Taking part is easy. There are 5 steps to follow:

Register > Read > Discuss > Review > Vote


This year’s shortlist is:

Bookbug Readers Category 3-7 Years:

  • The Day Louis Got Eaten by John Fardell
  • Jack and the Flumflum Tree by Julia Donaldson, illustrated by David Roberts
  • Solomon Crocodile by Catherine Rayner

Younger Readers Category 8-11 Years:

  • Out of the Depths by Cathy MacPhail
  • Soldier’s Game by James Killgore
  • The World of Norm: May Contain Nuts by Jonathan Meres

Older Readers Category 12-16 Years:

  • Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
  • The 13th Horseman by Barry Hutchison
  • The Prince Who Walked With Lions by Elizabeth Laird


You can find out more about the awards, access linked resources and get involved by visiting their website.

Categories: Book Awards, Books | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: